Customize Routing Text

Manual Routing Text

In some cases, you may want to customize the text your visitors see as they follow Meridian's turn-by-turn directions through your location.

The Meridian Editor supports custom manual routing text.

At this time, manual routing text is an all-or-nothing feature. If you're using manual routing text, then every node on your map will need to have custom text added to it.

Manual Routing Steps

One thing that complicates manual routing text is that you'll often want to display different text to your visitors depending on which direction they're traveling along a route.

In order to make this possible, the Editor treats pairs of nodes differently than other nodes. When two nodes are placed close together, Meridian will display the text for the first node in the pair, and ignore the second.

At the default map zoom, if two nodes are close enough to look like a single node, then they're close enough to be a node pair.

This way, your visitors will see different messages when traveling in opposite directions.

Add Routing Steps to Your Map

Complete these steps to create directional steps on a map.

  1. In the Meridian Editor sidebar, click Maps. Find the map level you'd like to add routing steps to, and then click the Routing button. The Routing button looks like a curved arrow.

  2. On the map, press and hold the SHIFT key, and then click the map to add a node.

  3. Press and hold the SHIFT key, and then click the map near the first node to add a second node connected by a segment.

  4. If you want to add routing steps to an existing routing segment, you'll need to delete that segment, and then replace that segment with new segments and adjacent nodes along that route. To delete a segment, click a segment to select it, and then press the DELETE key.

  5. Double-click the first routing step node to open the node dialog box. In the node dialog box, click Is Exit to add a check.

  6. In the Directions to this exit field, enter a hint you'd like your visitors to see when they arrive at this step. If you leave it blank, your visitor will see the message, "Follow the highlighted path."

  7. Click Save.

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.